May 20th 2013

T has karate classes on Mondays and Thursdays. I had just picked him up from school and got home when my husband got a phone call. One of our friends had told us there was a big tornado in Moore, Oklahoma. That’s where his daughter lives!

Quickly, I turn on the news, and there it is….mass destruction. He calls his ex wife. She was at work about 20 min away from the tornado. Her son was in one of the schools hit, right down the road from their house. He is okay! Her hubby had followed the tornado to the school, and was one of the first ones there to help out.  Their house was gone. And no one could get ahold of his daughter, M. 

We called and called and called, but it wasn’t getting through. We didn’t know if she was at her high school or vocational school. All we knew was: big tornado, house was gone, no M. I got sick to my stomach. We are 2 hours away from her, at best! Her mom was just leaving work, there’s no telling how long it will take either of us to get there. 
I called my mom to ask if she can watch T.  She said sure, and asked what was up. I blurted out “there was a tornado in Moore and they can’t find M!” My mom said, “what do you mean you can’t find M?!?!” I got tge whole story out without breaking down (I think).

Hubby and I get in the truck and take off towards some wicked nasty storms. We get slowed down in Ardmore due to rain and hail, but we didn’t stop.

My phone rang with an Oklahoma number I didn’t recognize. My hands and voice were shaking as I answered, “hello?”, I heard her say “hey”, I asked “M?”, she said “yea”. And I broke down. She was alive and okay! I told hubby it was M, and broke down again!

Longest drive EVAH!!!! We get close to the city and the highway is closed down. The whole time, I was in contact with people through Facebook,  thank god for Facebook! Cell service was patchy the whole way, so a lot of the time, that was the only way to let family know that we were okay and so was M.

The traffic was crazy as you can imagine. We picked up M, yea, we made it there before M’s mom! I cried again when I saw her. Hubby was on the phone with her  mom when we saw her, so she finallu got to talk to her mom. Very emotional stuff!

We do our best to maneuver around the backroads to meet up with M’s mom.  We hook up after dark. M and her mom go to meet up with M’s little brother and stepdad. We were in search of a hotel,  which was not easy due to everyone needing a place to stay and patchy phone service.

The next day we tried to get into the area, which was impossible if you didn’t live in that area. But M and her family were able to get in and check out damage. They found pictures, clothes, and a few other things before it started raining. There was nothing hubby and I could really do to help out just yet, so we head back home. The highway was opened back up, thank goodnes, so the trip home was a little easier.

I have never been in a tornado, so I didn’t really understand the statement “the house is gone”. But I quickly found out what that means…

image

image

image

image

image

And I have realized that seeing it on the news it totally different from it happening to somone close to you. I reacted completely different from what I would if I had not been so close to it. I guess you could say it was survival mode, maybe. It was like, okay it happened, is everyone okay, now lets get to picking up the pieces…

At the time of actually writing this, their 3 dogs were safe, but the cat was still missing.  We had gone up there Saturday for M’s graduation.  Sunday, they found the cat! Read about it here! AMAZING!

Leave a Reply

