Elves on Shelves

20121206-123955.jpg

How many of you have an Elf on some sort of Shelf in your house? I do! Unfortunately, when I got one last year, I didn’t think it would be that much work to it. Boy, was I wrong!!! I am horrible at this!

When I got one last year, T was sooo excited! We named him, and looked for him every morning. However, sometimes the elf would be in the same spot he was the day before! Hmmm, quick, think of something to explain it, or distract your child till its time to go to school! And whenever it was time for the elf to go back to the North Pole on Christmas Eve, I forgot to put him away. So, Christmas morning, I saw the elf and threw him somewhere so T wouldn’t see.

This year after Thanksgiving, I went to look for the elf. Of course since I didn’t actually put him away, I couldn’t find him. I thought T would be looking for the elf soon, so I went and bought another one from Super Target ( I like to say it in a French accent to make it feel fancy). I get the elf home, show T, and he looks confused. “Look who came back!” I say. “It’s an elf” he says. He didn’t even remember the last elf’s name!!! I told him we had to give this one a name and we read the book. Very first night!! Very first night, I forget to move the elf!!! And yes, we did give it a name, but we still call it “the Elf”. Since that first night, I have forgotten about him many more times! He even fell off the mirror, behind the couch, and stayed there for a couple of days.

If you don’t know the story behind The Elf on the Shelf, please take a look. And then go on over to Pinterest and search “elf on the shelf” to find out how crazy these things are! Our elf is very very mild mannered. Mainly because I don’t want to have to pick up after him. Some moms are awesome with these things….. I am not one of them.

Leave a Reply

